Prizes and Awards:

Since its opening in September of 2000, the Levi Strauss Museum was honoured with several international awards.

Schmuckziegel of the Fränkische Schweiz Verein:

In autumn of 2000, immediately after its opening, the Levi Strauss Museum was awarded the “Schmuckziegel” (Ornamental Tile) of the Franconian Switzerland Society. It honours the active work of the Levi Strauss Museum for their “outstanding Franconian and local identity.”

Red Dot Award

Logo Red Dot

The “Red Dot” for highest design quality was awarded to the Levi Strauss Museum Jeans & Cult in 2001 by the Design Centre of Nordrhein Westfalen with its headquarters in Essen. Since 1954, this institution has functioned as mediator between the economy, enterprises and designers and it is the leading institution in this field. From the whole 2,512 competitors of 22 countries who applied for the design prize, fewer than seven percent were awarded the prestigious trophy of the design world.

Special Commendation in the European Museum of the Year Award 2002

European Museum Logo

In 2002, the museum received its biggest award yet, the awarding of a special commendation in the European Museum of the Year Award.    

The application process began with a written application in 2001. In the following months, a total of 61 European Museums from 21 countries all over Europe were visited and assessed by members of the jury of the European Museum Forum, which awards the prize every year to interesting new museums. The museums were evaluated on the public quality of the museum, their presentation of the collection, the atmosphere of the museum, amenities for visitors, business management and the role of the museum in the community. In January 2002 the Levi Strauss Museum, along with a few other museums, were finally nominated for the inclusion on the list of selected candidates for the Awards. The process ended with a celebration in Luxembourg, where the Levi Strauss Museum was honoured for their achievements.

The jury, whose members come from 13 different European countries, took the time to note that the museum is a unique example of a local museum with an international audience. Furthermore, the committee praised the museum as a model for co-operation between volunteer effort, professional expertise and a forward-looking local authority.

Preise und Auszeichnungen

Seit seiner Eröffnung im September 2000 wurde das Levi Strauss Museum mit verschiedenen internationalen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

Schmuckziegel des Fränkische Schweiz Vereins

Im Herbst 2000, unmittelbar nach der Eröffnung, erhielt das Levi Strauss Geburtshaus den  Schmuckziegel des Fränkische-Schweiz-Vereins. Er zeichnete die Initiatoren des Levi Strauss Museums für „hervorragendes fränkisches Heimatbewusstsein“ aus.

Red Dot Award

Logo Red Dot

Der Red Dot, der “Rote Punkt für höchste Designqualität” wurde dem Levi Strauss Museum im Jahre 2001 von Design Zentrum Nordrhein Westfalen mit Sitz in Essen verliehen. Diese Einrichtung versteht sich bereits sein 1954 als Mittler zwischen Wirtschaft, Unternehmen und Designern und ist heute die führende Europäische Institution auf diesem Gebiet. Insgesamt 2512 Einsender aus 22 Ländern bewarben sich um den begehrten Preis, jedoch nur weniger als 7 Prozent der Arbeiten erhielten den begehrten „Oskar der Designwelt“. Der „Red Dot Award“ gilt als das anspruchsvollste und größte Design-Event auf internationaler Ebene.

Special Commendation beim European Museum of the Year Award 2002

European Museum Logo

Im Jahre 2002 erfolgte schließlich der bisherige Höhepunkt der noch kurzen Geschichte des Museums: die Verleihung einer besonderen Auszeichnung im Rahmen des Europäischen Museumswettbewerbs.  

Die Teilnahme einer Buttenheimer Delegation an der Preisverleihungsfeier in Luxemburg bildete den Abschluss eines lange dauernden Auswahlverfahrens, das mit einer schriftlichen Bewerbung im Jahr 2001 begann. Nach Auswertung der Einsendungen wurden in den folgenden Monaten insgesamt 61 europäische Museen aus 21 Ländern von Mitgliedern der Jury des European Museum Forum, das den Preis alljährlich an interessante neue Museen verleiht, besucht und bewertet. Besonderes Augenmerk der Beurteilungen der Kandidaten lag auf dem Ausstellungsdesign, auf dem Management sowie der Finanzierung des Museums, auf der Einbindung des Museums in die örtliche und regionale Kultur und schließlich auf der Bedeutung der begutachteten Einrichtung für die europäische Museumslandschaft im Allgemeinen. Im Januar 2002 schließlich wurde das Levi Strauss Museum zusammen mit nur wenigen anderen Teilnehmern für die Endausscheidung um die begehrten Preise nominiert.  

Besonders beeindruckte die aus 13 verschiedenen Ländern stammende Jury, dass das Buttenheimer Museum innerhalb kürzester Zeit einem breite internationale Publikumsresonanz aufweisen konnte. Außerdem wurde das Levi Strauss Geburtshaus als “Vorbild für das ideale Zusammenspiel zwischen ehrenamtlicher Tätigkeit, professionellem Sachverstand und zukunftsorientierter örtlicher Verwaltung“ hervorgehoben.